A tribute to Kang Woo: “Call out for me”

Okay, so I just finished Master’s Sun and I’m quite satisfied with the ending. Now I will not be always wondering why this is one of the most beloved series of KDrama addicts . I cannot believe that I’ve been missing out all this time.

Just like what I’ve read from people’s comments, So Ji Sub and Gong Hyo Jin have really great chemistry together… and I’m now one of the fans who will keep hoping that they do another project together. Soon, maybe? It’s a new year after all… a year for new opportunities and second chances.

But the subject of this post is my second male lead syndrome on Kang Woo. I really like So Ji Sub and I really like that his character, “Master” Joo Joong Won ended up with “Sun” (Tae-yang), hence Master’s Sun. But I know I’m not alone in thinking that Kang Woo would have been a great match too. From the very beginning, he was a worthy candidate for her male lead, when they first met, as he watched Tae Yang in her peaceful resting state.

At one time, Tae Yang even considered him… but he kind of ruined it when he told her that he was just pretending all along to like her… even though the truth is it already became real for him before he told her the truth. That’s just not right. And it’s the start of a tragic love story between the female lead and the second male lead.

What really motivated me to write this post is his heartbreaking lines in Episode 14… which he even repeated later in his drunken state in Episode 15:

Just once when you’re afraid, try calling out for me…

He is the perfect protector for anyone, except for someone who he really wanted to protect: Tae Yang. Unlike Joo Joong Won, Kang Woo cannot be her “shield.”

I was delighted to find out that Seo In Guk (Kang Woo) is part of the soundtrack… and he has a beautiful voice (as if he could get any more perfect… but apparently he could):

The lyrics were perfect for Kang Woo.. even though it’s heartbreaking.

From start to finish, it’s you (…) from start to finish, you don’t know me…

2 thoughts on “A tribute to Kang Woo: “Call out for me”

Comment all you like! ;)